2017 – The prize was shared between: Gregory Goldberg, The Rockefeller University. Thesis advisor: Luciano Marraffini. Thesis title: Investigating genetic (in)compatibility between temperate phages and CRISPR-Cas systems in Staphylococcus aureus. and April Pawluk, University of Toronto. Thesis advisor: Karen Maxwell and Alan Davidson. Thesis title: Prevalence, Diversity, Impact, and Applications of CRISPR-Cas Inhibitors.

2016. Jared Winkleman, University of Wisconsin. Thesis advisor: Richard Gourse. Thesis title: Mapping the Path of DNA in Transcription Initiation Intermediates.

2015. Joseph Bondy-Denomy, University of Toronto. Thesis advisor: Alan Davidson. Thesis title: The diverse impact of bacteriophages on the bacterial host.

2014. The prize was shared between Thomas Norman, Harvard University. Thesis advisors: Richard Losick and Johan Paulsson. Thesis title: Memory in a phenotypic switch and noise in gene networks; and Chao Jiang, Indiana University. Thesis advisor: Yves Brun. Thesis title: Evolution of bacterial morphology and beyond.

2013. Jason Peters, University of Wisconsin, Madison; Thesis Advisor, Robert Landick; Thesis Title: Genome-scale studies of Rho-dependent transcription termination in Escherichia coli.

2012. Elie Diner, University of California Santa Barbara; Thesis Advisor, Christopher Hayes; Thesis Title: Identification of a target cell permissive factor required for contact-dependent growth inhibition (CDI).

2011. Matthijs M. Jore, Wageningen University, The Netherlands. Thesis advisors: John van der Oost and Stan J. Brouns; Thesis Title: CRISPR-mediated antiviral defence in prokaryotes.

2010. Tim R. Blower, University of Cambridge, UK. Thesis advisor: George Salmond; Thesis Title: Functional and structural studies of the toxIN abortive infection and toxinantitoxin locus from Erwinia carotovora subspecies atroseptica

2009. The prize was shared between Mike Pearce-New York University; Thesis Advisor, Heran Darwin; Thesis Title: Identification of Substrates of the Mycobacterium tuberculosis Proteasome and Characterization of a Ubiquitin-like Protein that Signals their Degradation and Julia van Kessel-University of Pittsburgh; Thesis Advisor, Graham Hatfull; Thesis Title: Recombineering in Mycobacteria using Mycobacteriophage Proteins

2008. Richard Weart, Ph.D. Washington University; Thesis Advisor, Petra Levin; Thesis title: Regulation of FtsZ ring assembly and cell division in Bacillus subtilis.

2007. Wiep K. Smits, University of Groningen, The Netherlands; Thesis advisor, Prof. Dr. O.P. Kuipers; Thesis title: To be competent or not: an inquiry into the molecular basis of bacterial differentiation.

2006. Hubert Lam, Ph.D. Yale University; Thesis Advisor, Christine Jacobs-Wagner. Thesis Title: Regulation of polarity and cell cycle progression in Caulobacter crescentus.

2005. Ishita Shaw, Ph.D. University of Maryland Baltimore County; Thesis Advisor, Richard Wolf; Thesis Title: Characterization of the Escherichia coli transcription activator SoxS: protein-protein interactions with RNA polymerase and regulation of its proteolysis.

2004. Ali Nahvi, Ph.D., Yale University; Thesis Advisor, Ronald Breaker; Thesis title: Riboswitch Regulation of Gene Expression in Bacteria.

2003. The prize was shared between Benjamin Alba, Ph.D. University of California at San Francisco; Thesis advisor, Carol Gross; Thesis title: Control of the Sigma E-dependent extracytoplasmic stress response by regulated proteolysis, and Rut Carballido-Lòpez, Ph.D. University of Oxford; Thesis Advisor, Jeff Errington; Thesis title: Bacterial cytoskeleton: Cell shape determination in Bacillus subtilis.

2002. Thomas Bernhardt, Ph.D. Texas A&M University; Thesis advisor, Ryland Young; Thesis title: Breaking Free: Small Phages Inhibit Murein Synthesis to Lyse Their Host.

2001. Maria Lara-Tejero, Ph.D. Yale University, Thesis advisor, Jorge Galan; Thesis title: Molecular and Functional Characterization of the Campylobacter jejuni cytolethal distending toxin.

2000. Deborah M. Anderson, Ph.D. UCLA; Thesis advisor: Olaf Schneewind; Thesis title: Recognition of type III secretion substrates in Yersinia enterocolitica.

1999. Jessica M. Jones, Ph.D. Georgetown University; Thesis advisor, Hiroshi Nakai; Thesis title: Transpososome to replisome: The role of the Escherichia coli PriA protein in bacteriophage mu replication by transposition.

1998. Robert B. Tracy, Ph.D. University of California, Davis; Thesis advisor, Stephen Kowalczykowski; Thesis title: Biochemical investigation of the preferential binding and homologous pairing of GT-rich sequences by the Escherichia coli RecA protein and the Saccharomyces cerevisiae Rad51 protein.

1997. Barbara A. Bensing, Ph.D. University of Minnesota; Thesis advisor, Gary M. Dunny; Thesis title: Activation of pheromone-inducible plasmid transfer functions in Enterococcus faecalis: Interaction of a regulatory RNA with components of the ribosome.

1996. The prize was shared between Leonard Duncan, Ph.D. Harvard University; Thesis advisor, Richard Losick; Thesis title: Cell-specific activation of transcription factor sF in sporulating Bacillus subtilis, and Jin-Ying Yang, Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin; Thesis advisor, Rasika M. Harshey; Thesis title: Active site assembly during Mu transposition.